Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Congratulations United States of America

Today I envy all citizens of the U.S.A.  They have a new President, one I am sure will make more history than he already has by being elected.  I am not so sure about his choice of Veep – I would have gone with Hilary, but that is just my opinion.

I love the fact that American voters get to vote for the Man himself, not the party behind him.  If that were the case here in Canada I truly believe our Parliament would look a whole lot better than it does. Our Senators would have to actually work for their $130K a year.  And we would not have the mess we call our government.

So my hat is off to all of you south of the border who helped make this a most historic day in my life.  You done good.

Nancy

7 responses to “Congratulations United States of America

  1. Jill January 24, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hi honey!

    I have missed you so much. We just passed our 8 year mark of when we first met at Sony! So very much has changed in such a very short period of time for me in particular, but it seems to me, most everyone. I can’t wait to get to Heaven. I am so tired of disappointment that I want the Paradise!

    Not trying to be morbid; I plan on being around despite the desire for everlastingly!

    I look forward to having the ability to communicate with you daily, rather than quarterly, with me twisting your arm.

    Anyhoo, I have smoke today for the first time in what on March 31st, been 2 years. I smoke both types of cigarettes. I need to stop. Allie, when she was 5 asked me if I wanted to have a stroke, like my grandmother. I quit for only 7 months. I couldn’t refuse my 5 year old’s wish?

    Now, for my response to your Congratulations. I can’t believe you have drank the Obama Kool-aid!!! He started f’ing us up before Bush was out of office. At no other time in my 40 years have I seen a President-Elect that has had any say-so before Inauguration Day. His long left-sideness and “power” of the ignorant who just want a government handout that is referred to as a “tax-stimulus”, when if fact he is giving a check to everyone, even if they don’t pay any taxes or work for that matter. We call that WELFARE!!!! In exchange for this bribe, we allow a $1 Trillion in more debt, from the get-go!

    I’ll be back to rant on Obama and about Bush; wasn’t too fond of him either. He was Governor for 6-8 years, and I thought he was lazy!!!

    Later!

  2. serendopeity January 24, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Hey Bean – thanks for stopping by. Sorry but I think Obama will do alot better then than Dubya or any of his successors would have. We may have different political views but thats ok – I love you anyway. LOL.
    Personally I am a Hillary fan from way back when she was the First Lady. She would have gotten my vote in a heartbeat (had I had a vote in your election).
    My biggest concern for the US is your healthcare. After becoming a statistic here in Canada and seeing what my American counterparts in Cancerland have to go through to get proper care I could not begin to support McCain. Sorry – just my opinion. But like I said – thats one of the things about being friends – you don’t have to agree on everything.

  3. Jill January 24, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    My main concern right now, pardon my wallet, is the economic situation. I have to defend GWB here for two reasons. First, not being attacked since 911. And now Obama wants to undo everything that Bush put in place to protect us! Second, many Americans are apathetic, greedy or just plain ignorant. How is it economically possible to switch to a universal health plan, when we are so far in debt anyway! Still, I never voted for Bush. I did vote for Hillary in the primaries, but then voted for McCain. Check out this map:

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/politics/interactives/campaign08/election/uscounties.html

    Red counties, obviously McCain. We need to do away with this ignorant Electoral College crap, that the Democrats include Governors, and State Congresspeople an electoral vote. Republicans don’t go through all that mess. It should be based on the popular vote.

    Note where the blue areas are…highly populated areas, so they “take the whole state and ALL of their delegates”. This is how Gore lost in 2000. He won by popular vote, but not electoral votes, and then there’s that whole thing about Florida, whose Governor and deciding state is none other than his brother. Our politics are corrupt, make that covertly corrupt! I sincerely believe that we have a secret society, there was a movie about it, and there has to be soooo much business going on behind closed doors, that phrase is actually used in a political commercial.

    I have to add a third for GWB. People don’t realize that the President is not completely responsible blowing Clinton’s surplus budget and huge spending. The Democrats controlled both houses of Congress, where the spending bills came from in the first place.

    Bush, McCain and other Republicans tried to get Pelosi and Reid to reign in Fanny and Freddy Mac for 4 years. There was a 3rd party pulling the strings by using a representative to cook the books and lie before Congress on the states of the companies.

    If I could find someplace like Texas, then I would move out of the USA. I am thinking the closet would be FL. My step-sister lives in Orlando and Atla lives about an hour from there, so I would want to live in Tampa, which is actually closer to Alta than Orlando. The certification that I have been trying for 2 years to finish, will put me on a career path that would require me to travel 75% of the time, maybe up to 3 nights a week. I don’t want to miss that time with Allie.

    Will just have to see. I have given it to God to handle. I am sure he’ll do a much better job than I could.

    Love you!

  4. Sandra January 24, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Well Nancy, as you know I am an Obama fan. While I believe Hilary is truly a wise woman; she is too indebted to big business to make any real amount of change in our country. As for the people crying that Obama leans too far to the left – just more bobbleheads believing everything they read without really knowing the facts! As to the comment that Wubya has kept the U.S. safe – more of the same. Al Queda has proven that they are willing to lie low for as long as it takes just to catch their victims off guard, and trust me – we have become complacent already. Wubya has raped and pillaged our schools, our social security system, our infrastructure, and so much more, and in the process has managed to make us the most hated nation in the world today! But, what did we really expect when we put an arrogant, self righteous oil man with something to prove to his daddy in the Whitehouse? Big business has been running our great country far too long; we only have to look at tort reform, which has allowed big business to act as irresponsibly as they choose since their liability is now limited by politicians taking enormous kickbacks. What about those CEO’s blatantly bankrupting the companies they run while walking away with millions of dollars in bonuses, and American companies moving overseas in order to hire cheap labor, and let’s not forget the companies that stay here and cry for immigration reform while hiring illegal immigrants to keep down their costs! Wubya was bought and owned by big business AND the religious right. I have a real problem trying to find the difference between why the taking of innocent lives in an unprovoked war is not a problem while a woman’s very personal choice to have an abortion is. Religion is a very powerful thing, but to be used as a tool in which to enrich one’s own agenda stinks – all the way to heaven!!!!!

  5. Sandra January 24, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Oh yeah, and what I really meant to say – Go Obama………a very wise man that knows how to be a diplomat and not a dictator!

  6. serendopeity January 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    LOL – I am thinking we could be having our own war right here…
    Just remember girls, no biting, no scratching and no hair pulling.
    I hear ya Sandra, and the best part of all of this is that we live in countries where we can voice our opinions about the governments, past and present.
    Happily we would not have lost those rights whoever was elected.
    Obviously I am an Obama fan…what can I say?

  7. Sandra January 24, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I apologize for the “bobblehead” comment – truly uncalled for. What can I say, I’m just a hothead who has very strong opinions about our politics here in the gool ole USA.

Leave a Reply

