Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

My Best Friend is an Acronym

My best friend is NED.  NED has been my best friend for the last 4 years.  We met by accident but I am glad to have NED as my best friend.

NED doesn’t ask me why I am in a bad mood even if I am cursing a red streak.

It makes no difference to NED whether I say good morning or not.

Nor does NED care if I use premium coffee or the cheap stuff starting out my daily ritual. 

I sleep with NED and take NED everywhere I go.

We are attached at the hip so to speak, like Siamese Twins, but we never have to argue about who gets to sit down and who is left standing up.

I live my life around NED knowing that if NED ever leaves me I will probably die.

It’s a strange feeling knowing that but at the same time, it’s not as scary as I once thought it would be.

Losing NED would change my life once again but I would hope that NED would return someday bringing me the same joy as the first time NED entered my life.

NED is my best friend because and as long as NED remains my best friend I am a happy camper. 

NED is the acronym for No Evidence of Disease.  In a nutshell, my cancer has been eradicated and I am cancer-free.

That being said I need NED to be in my life. Without NED…I’m DED.

(with apologies to my non-acronym BFF’S)

 

2 responses to “My Best Friend is an Acronym

  1. Max January 24, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Re: NED…What a powerful, lovely essay. I pray NED will continue to be your life companion for a very long, long time! Hugs from a frost bitten Minnesotan.

  2. serendopeity January 26, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Thanks Max.

Leave a Reply

