Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

When will it end?

I haven’t felt this sick since chemo back in 2005. My whole body hurts and no matter what I ingest it just doen’t want to stay put.  I did some research and I should be able to follow the BRATT routine for anyone with a stomach bug/food poisioning.  Not sure which one I have but I am leaning toward the “bug” thing.  Anyhoo,for anyone whoever has a stomach thing going on BRATT is a doctor promoted eating routine while you are recovering.

B   =   Bananas

R   =   Rice

A   =  Applesauce

T   =   Toast

T   =   Tea

The worst part is the Tea.  I haven’t drank any amount of tea in I don’t know how long.  For the most part I would drive for hours to find a real cup of coffee – good coffee, with real cream not milk and 1 1/2 sugars.  However, in the interests of science and hoping to fell better I had lowered myself to drinking tea with lemon and sugar.  I love Iced Tea – or Swet Tea for you Southerners but hot tea just doesn’t do it for me. 

I can eat bananas no problem.  However with a much lessened stomach capacity a whole banana is not possible (and no comments from the cheap seats k?)  And I actually like them so it’s not a big deal.  However bananas now give me heart burn.  I have not had heart burn since…well, you know.  So this is scaring me a little – ok, ok alot!!!!!!!

Rice is pretty boring, but I knew along time ago that rice was a great stomach “cleaner” .  Thank travelling to Mexico and the Caribbean for that little piece of info.  I would hate to count the number of times Customs Agents in little warm countries looked at me funny when noticing a 1.5 litre bottle of water and a bag of Uncle Ben’s in my carry on.

Applesauce – I tried that this morning, very early this morning to be exact and it seemed to do ok.  Stayed where it was put and aside from causing a “lump” in my chest not too bad.  At least it didn’t want to return to it’s former glory outside my stomach.

Toast is toast no matter how you toast it and this morning I did manage to keep 1/2 bagel down.  I really miss cream cheese though…

Mom and dad are well on the path to recovery it would seem.  Mom slept till 3:00 this afternoon, but that is nothing new.  However upon waking up and moving around her poor knees are not doing too well.  I don’t have the heart to tell her that the chances of the Doctor’s agreeing to replace them are very slim due to her Alzheimers.  Anesthetic in any shape or form could seriously impair what is left of her fragile mind.  So it would almost seem like a 6 of one, 1/2 dozen of the other.  Fix the knees, kill what’s left of the brain or leave the kness and keep what’s left of the brain. 

Bosco is the only one who has remained untouched by all of this.  He has been a really good boy, although I could do without the play time in the morning just yet.  143 pounds of Chocolate Lab flopping down on me while I am still trying to sleep has not endeared him to me the last couple of mornings.  I know this is his routine, and I know, like mom his routine is everything to him but please boo, give it a rest for a couple more days…I promise you that when I feel better I will take you down to the park and we can play until your little heart is content. 

Ok I am finished whinning for the time being.  If I didn’t feel so horrible this would almost be funny.

Leave a Reply

