Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Happy Birthday to you…

Today one of my bestest friends in the world is celebrating a birthday.  She is lucky enough to be living in a warmer climate…Myrtle Beach, while the rest of us are still trying to figure out what to do with all the snow we have.

I have known Louise for about 20 years.  It doesn’t seem that long but it is!  I met “Lou” through my dad who picked her up in a bar. LMAO.  It’s not how it sounds!!!! But it is still a pretty funny story.

It is true that it was a bar.  It isn’t true that dad picked her up LOL.  My father and I both worked in the Stock Brokerage business for many years.  He has always been an early riser – even to this day he is up before the anyone else in their right mind who does not have to get ready for work.  It was the standard joke at home that dad was downtown in the morning to open the door of  the Toronto Stock Exchange for the janitor.  Anyhow, I was never downtown that early, but I would always meet up with dad for coffee before going to work.  We met in a place called Sammy’s Exchange which, by day was a restuarant and by 4:00 pm when the market closed a loud, smokey bar.

There was always this woman there in the morning when dad was waiting for me and she would say good morning to dad everyday.  One day she just decided to sit with him instead of at a table by herself.  I walked in that morning and thought “wait a minute, thats not my mom”!!!!  Reader’s Digest version – we have been friends ever since.  We have travelled together, eaten more meals together than I can count and most importantly no matter where either of us have landed we are still as close as can be.  She is the lucky one – always landing somewhere warm, sunny and usually with a beach near by.

Lou – sorry but your birthday card will be late – see my post about being sick.  We are just now getting over the worst of it and it started a week ago.

Whatever you do today Lou – have a great birthday.  And I wish you many many more my friend.

Have a glass of wine for me!!!!!!!!!

Love you and miss you !!!!

Nancy, Bosco, mom and dad.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to you…

  1. Emma February 20, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    And it’s my birthday tomorow! Great blog will read more when I have time.

  2. serendopeity February 21, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Well then, Happy Birthday Emma. And my you have many many more. Thanks for visiting Serendopeity. Drop by whenever you would like too.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

