Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

A week later…

…and we are slowly returning to “normal” around here, whatever normal happens to be for the day.  There are alot of things that most people would consider bizzaro in this home, but the one thing that remains constant is mom’s need for sleep.  She would sleep the day away if we let her.  I am sure this is part of Alzheimer’s.  If not, then I may have more problems showing up than I thought.  She is always tired and could sleep right through the day and night if we let her.  I will not let her though because I am afraid that sooner or later she will be up all night if she sleeps all day.  I am hoping that since the period of daylight is getting longer her need to sleep through it will get shorter.

We missed all our activities this week because everyone was not feeling well.  I decided that it was better to keep everyone home rather than take them to their group things and pass on whatever it was that we had.  Their group activities are attended by mostly seniors and I knew how we all felt and I wouldn’t wish that one anyone else.  Dad was particularily upset that he missed his group.  He really enjoys getting out and “chatting” with the guys.  I think the men do more chatting than the women, only about different things.  It would seem that all the men have “war stories” about their former careers.  It’s a really nice group of men that met on Thursday mornings.  They are all really cute.  I just love old people. LOL.

Mom’s group is very grandmotherly like.  They drink their tea and coffee out of cups and saucers which I think is a really nice touch.  There are some women there that are recently moved to Brighton from other places and they are also very “British”. 

Both groups are put on by the Community Care Centre.  They do wonderful things for our Seniors.  They run the Wheels on Meals program which feeds over 50 seniors on a daily basis with a hot meal.  The program is staffed by volunteers and everytime I walk into the centre to drop mom or dad there is a wonderful aroma of whatever that day’s meal is.  The week before last it was a cherry – lemon cobbler that had just come out of the oven…oh my, it sure looked tempting LOL. 

We also missed Bowling and Bingo this week.  So we will have to pick up next week where we left off.  I am going to talk to Sue about maybe doing the paint/craft this this week.  I know that Dad and Ivy are looking forward to bowling again so crafts can always wait – and besides the pain I bought kinda sorta froze in my trunk LOL.  I forgot it was there until yesterday when I was loading groceries.  Ya ok, I know, sometimes I should be blonde!

It’s bright and sunny today so perhaps we will just go for a ride.  I don’t know how cold it is – when Bosco came in from his last trip to the backyard his back was warm so the sun must be emitting some warm rays.

To everyone who emailed, left messages – thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I truly appreciate the care and concern you all show for us. It helps to know that I am not alone.

Have a great day.

It’s good to be back on this side of sick.

Leave a Reply

