Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

I don’t usually ask for favours…

…but today I am making an exception.

Any of you that know me well know that I am not a religious person in the true sense of the word.  I believe in God but I find organized religion, no matter of what persuasion, very hard to swallow – and did so even back when I could swallow.   And, for reasons I am not willing to discuss here, I have some problems with my “God”. One reason I will state for the record is I am not even sure “who” my “God” is.  Oh sure, mom was a Sunday School teacher (of the Presbyterian flavour) and we went every Sunday morning, but at the ripe old age of 9 when I began to question things…well let’s just say that my questions were met with raised eyebrows and answers that I never believed but knew enough to keep my mouth shut and question more!

I am not totally ignorant about religion.  I have read the St. James version of the Bible on more than one occassion.  The first time was in 1986 when I spent the better part of a summer hanging around the Ross Craig Funeral Home on Queen Street in Toronto.  No I was not into Funeral Homes but I had 3 family deaths that summer and the best I can come up with is that it was a good thing that it was air conditioned.  It was very difficult to read – so for my birthday that year I asked for a version that was in Plain English and my brother Jim obliged with my very own copy so I could return my mother’s.  I didn’t pick it up again until 1988 when my Grandfather died.  Looking for comfort and answers, it failed miserably on both points.  It had neither so it was tucked away.  Later that year I picked it up again and re-read it.  I still found no answers and little comfort, but to this day there are passages I can quote, chapter and verse.  They are not the quotes you hear everyday, but they are relavent for me and to me that is all that matters.  But I digress…(as usual LOL)

 

Tomorrow someone that I care very much about and have a deep respect for is going to undergo surgery.  This will be her second surgery in as many months.  The results from the pathology tests from the first surgery were not at all what any of us expected and the pathology report from this surgery will determine the course of action going forward.

 

On March 30th my friend Doris will receive a portion of her son Adam’s liver in the hopes that it will regenerate itself and make her well again.  I hadn’t seen Doris or her family for a very long time and got the opportunity to reconnect with them just before Christmas only to find out that she too was very sick.

So my favour to ask of you is this.  Anyone who reads here today, whether I know you or not, if you are a person who at any point during the day or at night when you lay your head down asks for someone to be watched over, protected, blessed or whatever you ask for please include my friends Jean and Doris in those prayers.   They are both awesome women with awesome families.  

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Nancy

6 responses to “I don’t usually ask for favours…

  1. Max Sullivan March 22, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    My dear Nancy – Prayers for both Jean and Doris will be enroute from MN in the days ahead. Max and her friend Milt

  2. serendopeity March 23, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Thank you Max and Milt.
    Every little bit helps.

    Hugs
    Nancy

  3. Lucy March 23, 2009 at 12:02 am

    i just read this, and i said a prayer for Jean, Doris and Adam. May God’s will be done.

  4. serendopeity March 23, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Thank you Lucy, it is much appreciated.

    Nancy

  5. STEVE March 23, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Hi Nancy,
    I will pray for Jean and Doris. I know that religion is a hard thing to grasp. Honestly, I don’t know where I’d be without it. Like you I was raised in a Pres. setting. That was part of the problem. Once I found a church that I could understand and a bible that I could understand…it became easier to understand. Certainly it was a challenge when I got cancer. But without the power of prayer from hundreds of people and some miracles…I wouldn’t be here today. I hope all is well with you.

    Steve Preston

  6. serendopeity March 23, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Thanks Steve.

    I am waiting to hear how it went today. I didn’t get home till late tonight and I felt it was too late to call and ask so I sent off an email because knowing her husband he is probably in the office if they kicked him out of the hospital.
    I am hoping he is not and then I will wait till the morning to hear.

    Whatever the case, I thank all of you who visited and granted my favour. Additionally thank you all for the emails.

    The most difficult thing for me is that I see her almost everyday, I see her family on a daily basis and I socialize with her and her daughter on Thursday nights. She is my bowling team captn, more importantly though, my friend, and just knowing the fight she may have ahead of her scares me. I know it is not EC but cancer is cancer and the mere mention of the word makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up.
    Additionally as a woman with body issues caused by surgery I can’t even begin to imagine how she feels.

    I will hope for the best and let everyone know when I do.

    Thank you all once again.
    I actually got real sleep last night for the first time in a couple of weeks.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

