Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Isn’t that salesperson who just made a commission off your purchase a consumer too?

On Saturday mom, dad and I went to our local Leon’s Furniture SuperStore and I purchased a dishwasher.  One had been in the house originally but after 20 years of service it finally bit the dust.  Landlord Man had promised a new one  and when he didn’t deliver it became a point in my “grievance” against him with the LandLord Tenant Board.  The findings of the LTB were that although it was an appliance and according to the ACT appliances must be replaced if unable to be repaired, a dishwasher was not seen by the member (judge) to be an appliance under the ACT, therefore they were not allowing my claim to a dishwasher.  OK – fair enough I guess.  I understand that one can live without a dishwasher – for some it would be a major pain – but at the same time an appliance is an appliance is an appliance, is it not?  Anyway I refused to appeal my case on various points although I know I could have won.  But, that also could have put me into a “bad” place with the LTB and if I need them again I could be up the proverbial creek for questioning their  interpretation of the ACT once. So – I bought one.  It is mine not the Landlord’s and in the event that I move I will take it with me.  The dishwasher was to be delivered today. One of the reasons I like Leon’s is that there is free delivery on all purchases.  This may be a small potato thing but hey – if  I am going to spend money in your store then ya, I want you to deliver it (if I can’t take it with me) at no charge. 

This morning at 8:15 while I was still in slumberland the phone rang – it was Leon’s.  They would be here between 11:00 and 1:00.  Good – lots of time to get up, get breakfast ready and still lots of time to amass some more dishes to use in the new dishwasher…

Like clockwork, they arrived just after 11:00.  The delivery guys at Leon’s are very nice, very courteous and respectful of hardwood floors, walls and the whole nine yards.  They bring the dishwasher in and I ask them to leave it in the dining room – I want to wash the entire floor in the kitchen before it settles into its new home.

For some reason, I am not sure what, I thought I had better check and make sure that the manual and the hook up attachment for the tap were in the dishwasher.  Well, guess what???  They weren’t. I had watched the salesperson, Adam, put the package in the d/w on Saturday.  I had purchased the floor model – it was $80 off  the regular price and made sure the manual et al were included.  Like I said I watched the salesperson put it in the top rack of the d/w while we were standing there.

The delivery guy made a call – Adam would not be in until noon but he would call me when he got in to make arrangements for me to get the package.  Thanks guys – good job, you get a scooby snack.

I took mom to her group this afternoon and dad and I went to WalMart to pick-up stuff and kill an hour.  When we got home I checked the phone.  No call from Adam and it was almost 3:00.  Ok – now I’m a little upset.  So I call him.  Oh ya, he says I was going to call you.  I will leave the package at the service desk.  You can pick it up whenever. Stunned I mumble ok thanks and hang up.  That’s when the full force of Nancy’s Anger shows up and the realization of what I have just agreed to hits me.

BACK UP THIS BUS!!!!!! 

I pay you almost $600.00 for an appliance that I wait 3 days to be delivered and when it is, it is missing “parts”  that I now have to drive 20 ( 40 return) miles to pick up??????  What is wrong with this picture?  Or am I totally delusional in thinking that the correct thing to have been said would be something along the lines of – Hey, we messed up.  The delivery truck will be in Brighton again tomorrow and I will have them drop it off.  Or maybe, gee I’m really sorry that the guys in the back took it out.  I will have that to you right away.  Or even better, I am really sorry to have inconvienced you this way – when you pick it up there will be a $50 Gift Cert off your next purchase.  And he knows there will be a next purchase – as soon as he entered my phone number on Saturday into the Big Brother computer all my Leon’s purchases came up (and they have been quite considerable in the last year).  But No  – Adam says, you can pick it up whenever.

Well Adam – I’m pissed and I’m loaded for bear.  If you are not in the store tomorrow when I pick up the package, your manager is going to get an earful.  I am so sick of this and similar situations.  Are people who are “behind” the counters of various stores, shops and the like not  consumer’s themselves?  Is this how they would accept being treated?  And if it is, what the hell are they thinking?  Or is it me?  Am I too picky for my own good?

My first foray into working at a Call Centre had me at Sears Canada.  I worked in the department where people called in and we made appointments for them and their broken down appliances.  It was eye opening to say the least and at times I could truly SYMPATHIZE with these callers – not empathize as we had been told to do.  See, if  my $1500 washer broke down and I had a house full of screaming kids and loads of laundry to do and someone sweetly told me that it would be at least 2 weeks till they could have someone there to fix it – Ya, I would be pissed too.  And people were, all the time.  “I’m sorry Maam, I can understand your frustration at not having a (fill in the appliance blank) for 2 weeks.  Unfortunatly, we are very busy and that is the earliest I can have someone out to your home”.  Blah, Blah, Blah.  Oh ya, I truly can understand your frustration because if I paid Sears a pile of money for an appliance they had better well have someone out here tomorrow to fix it.  That meat in the fridge freezer was not free and I have no where else to put it!!!!!!

So customer’s frustrations became my frustrations.  In fact, one day I totally sympathized too much with a customer.  Her front load washer was leaking for the second time since she had bought it 8 months ago.  It was still under warranty but she was getting sick and tired of having to have it repaired all the time and what was going to happen when the warranty was over???  I feel your pain and very good question.  So  I tell her “You know, Sears has an unconditional guarantee.  If you are not satisfied with your purchase it can be returned for a full refund and in all honesty I would call my salesperson and demand that he have the truck come and remove this piece of garbage from my home if it were me”.  And yes, I really did tell her that. 

Well apparently I also told my boss and the quality control person because it was one of my “taped” calls.  Anyone who has ever worked in a Call Centre knows what they are.  For those of you who do not – those are the calls that “May be recorded for quality control and training purposes” calls.  Within 10 minutes of the call ending, I was dragged into and office with my boss, her boss and half the quality control department…I guess it’s a BIG nono to tell customers that the appliance they are having so many problems with is a piece of garbage, even if it is!  Furthermore, it is also a nono to tell people of Sear’s satisfaction policy.

Needless to say I didn’t work at Sears too much longer after that call!

I have had many run-ins with Corporate Jerks in my life time.  Most of them resulted in my demands being met.  And yes, there were demands.  If I am paying good money then I expected a modicom of service with that purchase.  Maybe I am just crazy – it wouldn’ t be the first time!  But, what the hell, I am sure that most people work as hard for their money as I do.  Don’t we deserve to be treated with some respect if we are willing to spend those hard earned after tax dollars on big ticket items? I’m not talking about chocolate bars for 65 cents at the the buck store, rather hard goods, washers, dryers, stoves, fridges?  Or have we become so much of a disposable society that we just don’t care anymore? 

Well sorry – but I do care.  And I will continue to fight for what I believe in.  Call me stupid, pig headed, whatever you want but I work hard for my money damnit – someone is going to have to work extra hard to get it from me!

 

Nancy

Leave a Reply

