Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Sometimes you fell like a nut, sometimes you don’t.

And sometimes I feel like writing and sometimes I don’t.    The last couple of weeks have been a “don’t” period.  I am not sure why but perhaps the fact that I hate the month of April might have something to do with it.   Fact #116 on my  164 Things about Me List is that I hate the month of April.

Why, you ask?  Read this and throw in the fact that it was also a year ago April 3 that I found my Uncle dead in his chair and it pretty well sums it up.

I am also suffering from Caregiver Burnout.  I will be remedying this in the very near future – June 1st to be exact – when I will be vacationing in beautiful Lake George, NY and participating in all the fun that Americade and Bike Week have to offer.  Click here to see what Americade is all about and why I will be having the most fantabulous time ever!!!!!

Additionally I am having more help come in to help with mom and dad.  I have come to the realization that,  try as I may,  I cannot be the chief cook and bottlewasher, laundry maid, and all round General Domo around here.  My caregiver role is a 24/7 job and even when I was a workaholic I didn’t keep those hours.  It may have felt like it at the time, but I was young and naive back then.  At least I got to go home and away from work everyday, had weekends to do whatever, had a life. That is not the case anymore. 

So, more help, a week pretending to be a “biker chick” and I think that I will be ready to write again.  Oh ya, after returning home I will be heading off again at the end of June.  I will be going to Minneapolis, MN to attend the wedding reception of my now famous cousin Kate Harding.    I haven’t seen that branch of the Family Tree in many many years so I am very very excited about going.  My only regret is that Mom and Dad will not be able to go with me.  They don’t travel well these days and I am afraid that too much change and excitment would not be a good thing for them. 

The livingroom is almost complete now.  Still have the trim to paint, but I am so glad I went with the traditional colours that a house this old and “stately” deserves.  I will post pics as soon as I get the patch cable from my nephew.

Hope your week and your month of April is going/has gone well and one last thing – no matter how chilly it still is, I have spotted my one true confirmation of spring being here.  This week, I saw my first Magnolia Tree in bloom.  I love Magnolia Trees and I know for sure that spring is here when I see the first one.

Wow, I guess I had more to say than I thought I did.  LOL.  Ya, Ya – what did you expect?  Afterall it is me we are talking about and I am not usually at a loss for words.

Nancy

2 responses to “Sometimes you fell like a nut, sometimes you don’t.

  1. Latane May 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    So happy that you are going to get away for a little while. That just makes your job of caregiving so much easier. When things get tough later on just put your mind back with the bikes and the lakes or beach or someplace wonderful and peaceful. Have a wonderful time.

  2. serendopeity May 3, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Thank you Latane. You always know how to make me feel better. I will enjoy my time away much more now knowing that mom and dad are probably having as good a time as I am while I am gone. They need a break too, they just don’t realize it LOL.
    When I get back it will be time to open the cottage. They both love it on the water and it was a major adjustment for them when I brought them to live with me in town.
    Dad will be starting his garden soon so that will also put him in a better frame of mind. I think winter is the toughest. We are pretty well limited to indoor activities and dads big thing is his garden come summer. However, dad’s garden means it will soon be canning season…it feels like I just put all the stuff away and will have to bring it all out again. LOL. But everytime I bite into a home made pickle or put peach jam on my toast I realize how worth it it really is.

    Hugs to you and E.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

