Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

For my EC Readers – and my Non-EC readers too!!!

I have added a new page to Serendopeity.  It is one man’s story of his journey with EC.  Bill Cameron was a much respected and well loved Canadian broadcaster and journalist.  I can remember watching him on CITY TV and CBC but I never had the pleasure if meeting him in person.  However, through my own journey with EC I have been priviledged to meet and become friends with his wife, Cheryl Hawkes. 

Cheryl is an amazing woman and I consider myself very lucky and most proud  to be able to call her my friend.  Thank you Cheryl for allowing me to reprint Bill’s article here at Serendopeity.

Through Cheryl’s tireless efforts the City of Toronto annually recognizes Esophageal Cancer with an EC Awareness week in May.  This has grown from the first year of it’s  inception from a day to a whole week.  It starts tomorrow May 10 – May 16, 2009.   See the Proclamation by the Mayor of Toronto here.

 Additionally the City of Toronto also named a street in Bill’s honour in the neighbourhood that Cheryl and her children still call home. 

Also through Cheryl’s efforts there is now a fund at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto that is specifically for research into EC.  Many people ask how they can help – here it is.  To my knowledge it is the only EC specific fund in Canada.  You can make a donation here if you so wish.  You can also read a special message from Cheryl by following the link on the left hand side of the page.

If you have a minute, please read Chasing the Crab.  It was the last piece Bill  wrote and truly captures the “realness” of battling Esophageal Cancer.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

