Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Update Time!

I spent most of the day sleeping today, a luxury usually unknown to me.  I did get up this morning but mom and dad had aready been fed so I made something to eat (grapefruit, peanut butter and toast, coffee) and then went back to sleep. Not intentionally, my breakfast didn’t sit well so I thought I would just lie down for a minute and it would pass.  No such luck, lying down for a minute that is the next thing I knew it was noon and it was time to make lunch.  But I didn’t have to do that.  Craig is fitting in so nicely that I could sleep while he fed mom and dad. I got to stay in bed with the dogs – both of them – and sleep some more.  When I finally did wake up it was 3:00.  I asked Craig to make sure that I was up by 4 but I really didn’t need to as I didn’t fall back to sleep. Took my shower and then it hit me!!!  I felt like death warmed over.  Stupid me, in all my glory of sleeping the day away I forgot to eat.  By suppertime my stomach was in total revolt having nothing in it other than bile.  Not a pretty picture I know, but that’s what happens when I don’t eat. 

See a normal person can go without food in their stomach with not much trouble.  I, on the other hand, need to have something in my stomach at most times – otherwise the bile.  You would think that I would know this by now but no, I totally forgot.  Making dinner was a chore.  I was so out of energy that I had to sit down every couple of minutes or wlse I would have fallen down.

I truly believe that the reason I was able to slep is that I am finally getting comfortable in my roll of co-caregiver and that my body is finally catching up on all the sleep it has missed.  Thank God for Craig.  He has saved my bacon so to speak.  He is always right there when I need a break from mom and dad and it is so nice to not have to worry that they are not getting into trouble or danger.  Having him come in here and help me with them is the best thing ever.  Thanks Sue for suggesting it !  I am also going to bed earlier at night.  Last night it was 1:30.  That is about 4 hours earlier than I am used to.  Holy Cow!!!!!

Maggie (the dog) and Bosco are getting along famously.  I was a little worried at first.  Maggie is so adorable but as a little dog she was very intimidated by Bosco on the ocassions that she ran into him.  Now it is really cute to see them together.  Bosco, for the most part, ignores her,  but then he goes and does something chivalrous and I have to laugh.  He no longer stands directly in front of his water dish. Instead he stands to one side so that she can drink too if she wants.  I think he purposely leaves a little food in his dish so that she can have it.  The first time she stuck her head in the water dish I had to laugh.  She looked at me, looked at him, and then started lapping at the water. LOL.  He just looked at her as if to say, ya, whatever LOL.  She is also really cuddly. I have put off having her in my lap too much lest he get jealous, well more jealous than he is but today when I was laying down he jumped up on the bed, settled in at my feet, ok so on my feet and before I could move she jumped right up and snuggled in beside me.  I thought he would get annoyed but he didn’t.  LOL.  When you rub her stomach and stop, she takes her paw and paws at your hand to keep going.  She is just like Bosco was when he was young LOL – only about 1/20th of the size.  Which by the way, Bosco is shrinking.  He is on a diet (well as much of a diet as he can be around here) and so far has lost 2 pounds.  He has a wayto go but this is a good sign.  He is also on medication now for the rest of his life as his thyroid is not working properly.  I am glad to know this because I thought his weight issues were just because of the litany of food that mom and dad were feeding him but apparently not.  Taking his pill twice daily is one of the few times he gets people food.  To get him to take his pill I have to put it in liverwurst LOL.  Tonight I put it in a little piece of meatball and lo and behold I got the stare and the bark until I brought the liverwurst out.  He certainly does know what he wants, especially when it comes to food. The barking is driving me crazy but I know it is just because the poor thing is starving to death. LOL.  He will survive but I don’t know if I will.

Two weeks today and I will be in sunny (I hope) Lake George, New York for Americade’s Bike Week.  Right now I wouldn’t care if I was going to the next town over as long as I got some peace and quiet and a vacation.  I haven’t really been on a vacation since having cancer.  It will be nice to get away for a whole week.  I have also made my plane and hotel reservations for the end of June in Minneapolis for my cousin Kate’s wedding reception.  There is no turning back now.  I have to get a dress and shoes but will do that in Lake George.

I get my tattoo this week. Friday night to be exact.  I am looking forward to this.  It will be a permanent acknowledgement of being a survivor of cancer.  I go see Gastro Guy this coming Thursday for my annual scope and heading into the summer I see Rad Onc in Aug after a CAT scan in July.  The good news is that unless I hear back from Gastro Guy I won’t be nervous waiting to hear about the CAT scan from Rad Onc.

Things are most definately looking up…at least for me. However, my favourites on Dancing With The  Stars might not think so for themselves.  I really want Shawn Johnson and Mark Ballas to win and before tonight I thought that they would be the ones leaving tomorrow night before the winner was announced but…Melissa and Tony didn’t do as well in the Free Style as I thought they would so it could come down to Shawn and Mark, and Cheryl and Gilles.  If that happens then I really think that Cheryl and Gilles will take it but who knows what will happen in TV land.  All I know is that next Monday night will be a “What do I do tonight” night because DWTS will be over 😦

Bowling is also over for the season.  We won’t be back in the lanes until September.  So, what the hell am I going to do on Thursday nights?  I won an award this year – the “Best Effort/Least Reward” award.  I get a nice placque for the wall and I netted some coin.  Basically the award is for the person who tries the hardest but still sucks at bowling – that would be ME!  But that’s ok, I had the best time this year and will most certainly be back in September.  My team tied for First Place, which is an acheivement in it’s own right.  Consider, I am a bad bowler – avg of 96; we lost one of our best bowlers when she had to have surgery (2) for breast cancer (Jean).  So net net we did pretty damn good tying for first.  My team is obviously very awesome and carried me most of the time LOL.  Thanks Guys, it was an honour playing with you.  See you in September.

Amazingly enough I am quite tired now so I am going to bed and it is only 12:30.  A couple more nights like this and I will be a “normal” sleeper once again.  I am not looking for miracles though, sleep was never one of my strong suits.

Have a great week.

 

Nancy

3 responses to “Update Time!

  1. Latane May 21, 2009 at 8:32 am

    That is, indeed, amazing news. So happy for your friends. Prayers were answered and we all know what Prayer can do. You are better and have more time for yourself. Your friends are better. Wonderful world this morning.

    I had a major meltdown yesterday, worse day so far. Then I found the empty bottle of anti-depressant that I meant to fill days ago… uh oh. Elbert was wild all afternoon and without the Lexapro… well, it wasn’t pretty!!

  2. Latane May 21, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Oh, addition to last comment. It’s me that needs the lexapro!! Not Elbert.

  3. serendopeity May 21, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Ah Latane – Big hugs to you, it sounds as though you need them! I can understand what you are saying aboutthe Lexapro! I am not sure how far I would have gotten without my Celexa!
    I hope that by the time you read this you are feeling better.
    I am glad you got some time away for the wedding. I was afraid that you wouldn’t be able to go and that would have been terrible. I am finally learning that as caregivers were really do need to take better care of ourselves or we are useless to those who need us most!

    Tomorrow is Mom’s 75th birthday and we are having a family and friends BBQ on Saturday. The weather is supposed to be great so I am looking forward to having everyone over.

    Please make sure you get your prescription filled. I have also learned that the more agitated I get, the more mom gets too. And then the fireworks start LOL. I know it’s not funny – but in some ways it can be comical at times and those are the times I try to hold on too.

    Take Care my friend and as always thank you ever so much for all the love and support.

    Love
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

