Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

AWESOME NEWS!!!!

Today has been a great day for good news.

Let’s start with my lunch date today!  I had lunch with Jean today.  Jean is my friend in addition to being my ex-employer.  A while back I asked for some prayers for Jean because she was undergoing surgery.  A lot of you answered that request and today, at her appointment with her surgeon, he told her the good news.  After two, yes two surgeries, she is fine.  All tests came back negative.  She is cancer free and able to just get on with it!!!! 

The most awesome part of this story – Jean had her original surgery and when the pathology report came back she had not only one type of cancer but TWO different types of cancer, one inside the other.  As someone who has done mega-research on cancer I can tell you that two different types of cancer at the same time is not something that happens every day.  So when someone is declared cancer free of BOTH it is an awesome thing.  I am so happy for you Jean and for the rest of your family who have managed to hold it all together in the face of such adversity. 

 

And now for the other awesome news today…

 

I have another friend who recently underwent surgery for EC: the same cancer I had.  Steve also saw his surgeon today and was pronounced cancer free or in cancer survivor terms – NO EVIDENCE OF DISEASE!  I have never met Steve and yet we have become friends through our  wordpress blogs and our own experiences with EC. 

 

One thing I can tell you – both Jean and Steve had amazing attitudes all the while battling what could have been terminal illnesses.  Neither of them ever gave up or saw themselves as victims.  From the onset, both of them were survivors and will continue to be.  As a survivor myself I know that not all days are good days, that is to be expected because the bottom line in all of this is that we are human. And as such, we are entittled to bad days just like everyone else.  However, as survivors we sometimes see our bad days in an not so favourable light. Those days conjour up all the horrible things we let ourselves think while we were in a fight for our lives.  I would never wish any of this on anyone – not even my worst enemy.  As a survivor I know how precious each and every day is and although I have been told I am cured there will always be that nagging little thought in the back of my mind if “it is back”.  So if someone you know is having a bad day and that someone is a Cancer Survivor, cut them a little slack. The best thing for bad days is a hug – and the best part – they are free.

One response to “AWESOME NEWS!!!!

  1. steve33433 June 12, 2009 at 11:28 am

    That was quite the entry, Nancy. I hope your record of encouraging those of us with EC keeps up with these positive results. You, Jean and I are free of the insidious stuff. And in conjunction with what you said, I think it is natural to look over ones shoulder to try to ensure it is not creeping up on you again as long as the look is only a glance and not a continual stare.
    All the best.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

