Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Day 6 – Time to head home :(

No sleeping in this morning, it is time to get the car packed and head north back to Canada.  I got all my stuff ready last night, it’s not as big a pile as Rick thought it would be LOL.  Hell, we have room for loads more, although I think that asking him to stop at WalMart or any other store would be pushing my luck at this point.

Since it is our last morning we are all going to a breakfast buffet at Mario’s, the same Mario’s that we had dinner at the first night we were here. If breakfast is as good as dinner was, Mario’s will become my new favourite place to eat in Lake George.  I am not sure, how much I will be able to eat.  Mornings are never a good time for me to eat, I don’t know if my throat shrinks at night or what but most mornings I have to wait an hour or two before I try anything other than maybe some grapefruit and of course my coffee.   ( I can not live without coffee!!!)

Packing the car was easy – and after we walked over to Mario’s.  Everyone must have had the same idea because there was a line of waiting people, but the hostess said it wouldn’t be that long so we decided to wait.  While waiting we were talking to some people from New Jersey.  Why is it that as soon as someone asks you where you are from and you say Ontario, the first thing they say back is “Oh we have been to Canada.”, like it was some big deal, life altering thing.  Crossing the border is not that difficult, nor is it a major deal.  I used to cross at Niagara Falls every couple of weeks just to grocery shop.  But I suppose that if you don’t live that close to the border, perhaps it is a bigger deal than I thought.  Living an hour from another country has always been where I live, except for a couple of years in Alberta.  Buffalo and Niagara Falls were a short drive away and even as kids were regularly crossed into the US.

We finally got a table for breakfast.  It was a great buffet.  Fresh fruit, eggs bennedict, muffins, danishes, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, french toast, pancakes  and even an omlette station where the owner personally made your made-to-order omlette.  I tell ya, how is a girl to choose?

I went with the french toast and some fruit.  Of course coffee by the gallon – my morning just wouldn’t be the same without my java fix! Then I had some hash browns and eggs bennedict.  I know, I know, for someone who cannot eat, that seems like a lot of food, but it wasn’t really.  I only took 1/2 piece of french toast and a couple of pieces of watermelon.  A little bit of hash browns and the eggs bennedict – I only ate the ham and egg really LOL.  I could have done without the sauce even but they were already made…the eggs bennedict was the one thing that wasn’t up to par for Mario’s.  I would think that having them on a buffet table is a little to blame.  The eggs were hard cooked and not runny like they should have been.  All in all it was a very good breakfast and now I won’t have to eat till much later tonight.  Mario’s once again lived up to their reputation.  It is by far one of the places that I would highly recommend if you are in the Lake George area.  Overall the value for the money, the ambience of the restaurant itself, the helpful and very pleasant wait staff and the very delicious  food makes it one of the better establishments to visit.  I would go back in a minute.

So, with breakfast out of the way, the moment I was dreading since first arriving was upon us.  We said good bye to MaryJane and Adam in the parking lot, they were going to go on ahead and make a stop in Watertown, we were going to take our time and go the scenic route.

Before leaving the Manager of the motel Scott and his new bride Deidre came out to say good bye and take the famous “Wall of Shame” photo.  I had forgotten all about that and this time I GOT TO BE IN THE PIC.  LOL.  Every year at the end of  Bike Week, Scott takes a picture of the guests who were there at Lake Haven for Americade.  Apparently he has been doing this for years and when I first visited last fall there were 100’s of pics up on the wall of the office. This year when we checked in all the pics were gone!!!!  But not for long, instead of having them up on the wall there is now a digital frame that sits on the counter and runs through all the pictures.  The next time I am there I will now be in one of the pics too!!!!!  YEA!   I know, I get way too excited about such trivial things LOL.

Hugs all around and it was time to go!  I didn’t want to leave but I knew that we had too.  It would  be a short ride home, it always was coming back from vacation but it would be nice to see everyone and the dogs too.  I had taken all the pictures off my camera card before I left home but managed to sneak a couple in of the dogs before I left so I would be able to look at them while I was gone.  Ok, so I am a suck for the dogs LOL.

The big baby Bosco

The big baby Bosco

 

 

The little baby Maggie

The little baby Maggie

I think I slept for a while on the way home.  I know we stopped for coffee and doughnuts at Dunkin Donuts.  It would be my last cup of DD in the US. Luckily enough I bought a couple of bags of coffee to take home with me.  I really like DD coffee, even more so than Tim Horton’s coffee here.  And I have to say the jelly donuts at DD are real jelly donuts with so much jelly in them that I usually end up wearing some of it.  I have to find a supplier in the US who will send me bags of coffee at regular intervals LOL.

We got to the border, passports in hand and after answering the usual questions we were told to have a nice day and that was it.  We were back on Canadian soil, no problem.  No inspection of the car, no harrassment, nothing.  On a tangent – I was talking to someone when we were away and discussing the passport issue.  All people entering the US by car now must have a valid passport as ID.  This is not such a bad thing except Canadian Passports are one of the biggest rip offs going.  Our passports last for only 5 years, whereas everyone else in the world gets them for 10.  They are cost prohibative – $20+ for pictures, $87 for the document itself.  And the Canadian Government was actually very smart for a change on the passport issue.  When the US government first announced that passports would be needed to enter the US, even by Canadians, my government kinda sorta made a little fuss, but didn’t do a whole lot about it.  They did more talking than anything else with no real action at all.  But, they were smart in doing so – or not doing anything as it were – now anyone coming back into Canada had to have a passport.  No more fumbling for a birth cert and picture ID.   Canada Customs actually had a new and innovative way of identifying people without having the back lash from the public that they would have had it been their idea and not the US’s.  Way to go Canada, you are finally learning how to play the game LOLOLOL.

So that’s it folks.  The daily event calendar of the road trip of a lifetime.  I haven’t had a chance to sit down with Sue yet and tell her exactly what an awesome time I had or to thank her and Rick properly for taking me with them.  I can never put into words just how great a time I had, although I think they both know already.  I desperately needed the break and it was a most welcome break at that.  Hopefully I will get a chance to tell them soon.  I am off to Minneapolis and my cousin Kate’s and her new husband Al’s wedding reception on Thursday.  I have never been to Minneapolis so I am looking forward to it but most of all I am looking forward to seeing my relatives who I haven’t seen for a long time. 

Thank you for reading my adventure.  I hope it hasn’t bored you too much.  It was fun for me to write it, I got to relive everything all over again.  I haven’t done that with many trips – I tend to come home and they fade into the background but I will remember this one frequently.

Americade 2009 is one for the books now – I can hardly wait till next year.  June 7th – June 12th, Lake George, NY – BE THERE – I will !!!!

Leave a Reply

