Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Update Time.

It has been a while since I did any kind of update.  It is not for lack of things to update but more lack of time to do it in.  I was only back from Lake George and Americade for a week or so when I packed up and went ti Minneapolis for my cousin Kate and her new husband Al’s wedding reception.  They got married in Vegas in December and had their reception in June in Minneapolis.  I went and had an awesome time.  It was truly a weekend I will always remember.  In addition to seeing family that I have not seen in years and years it was nice to get away all by myself and travel around a new city.  Minneapolis is a great walking city.  The weather was a little warm – I prefer the 70 degree range to the 90 degree range but all in all it was still a great time. Getting there by air travel and renting a car was another story all together and I have already started that piece for later publication so I am not going to get into it here right now.  I also got to go to the Mall of America.  Same thing, I will blog about that later.

I have been notabley absent of late, and for this I apologize.  With dad being sick and hospitalized and then returning to the ER a couple of days later and waiting to see his family doctor it has been a long two weeks in the health department.   We finally got to see his Doctor on Monday.  Dad does in fact have gall stones but after reading the CAT scan report the Doctor is not convinced that it is the stones causing the problem.  He has deleted Celebrex from Dad’d daily med list too see if perhaps it was a side effect from the med causing some ulceration in dad’s stomach.  We will leave the Celebrex out of the mix fo a month or two and see if there is any change.  However, the Doctor did give me a prescription for dad in the event there is another attack.  This will negate a trip to the ER if dad ends up in pain again that he thinks is going to kill him. 

Mom is still mom (in name at least) and she is still pretty quick to come up with an excuse or explanation for strange things that happen when she is around.  Like how things get into the fridge, mysteriously move from one plae to another, disappear completely never to be seen again.  I  tell ya, from what she tells me we have some pretty amazing dogs, because they can do some incredible tricks.  Just the other day one of them managed to move my watch and 2 rings off the table and put the watch on mom’s wrist, a ring on her finger and the other ring in her pants pocket!!!!! If there was a market for these kinds of phenomenon I would be rich!!!!! 

Speaking of the dogs, Bosco is still the same ole crazy one except he is a little lethargic the last week.  He has an infected follical on his chin so he has been taking antibiotics which I don’t think he likes much.  He does like the little balls of liverwurst that he gets his pills in, but he doesn’t like the ills themselves.  Maggie also likes the liverwurst and is very happy that Bosco is taking pills LOL.  She gets her little taste twice a day when he gets his.  The two of them are really funny together.  I call them Mutt and Jefff.  He is this big oaf and she is this little monkey like creature.  She loves sleeping with me and sneaks in when I am asleep.  It is only when I try to move in the morning that I know she is even there. 

We took mom and dad to the Airshow last weekend.  It was ok, I guess. But when you grow up a block from the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto and are used to seeing the AirShow there every Labour Day Weekend, all other AirShows plae in comparison.  The only real flying was done by the Snowbirds.  There were some paratroopers that put on a cool display in the sky and the tarmac was open with a lot of planes set up to see  and the price was certainly right – $2 to park the car.  That included the shuttle bus to the base for all 4 of us.  Not a bad deal.  We took a picnic lunch and our chairs and watched the planes overhead.  Craig walked around taking pics of all the planes – he used to fly all the time loves the airplanes.  He took some really cool pictures like this one:

Tail Gunner Section of a Lancaster

Tail Gunner Section of a Lancaster

So this is where a tail gunner would sit in the tail section of a Lancaster to shoot at the bad guys.  There is not a lot of room in one of these so I am imagining that a tail gunner would be a very young man who hadn’t had a chance to grow to his full potential yet.  It’s kind of sad to think about, especially being at the Trenton Military Base, as this is where all our dead soldiers return to from Afghanistan.  As a side note – we are up to 124 dead soldiers.  Sorry – but I have to say it again.  The Canadian Armed Forces are Peace Keepers.  We are not at war with any country and yet we have dead soldiers arriving at regualr intervals.  So again I say it – BRING OUR TROOPS HOME NOW!  Ok I am off my soapbox.  I know my “demands” are not going to make a difference however as apathetic as Canadian are known to be I truly believe this is one instance that were a referendum be held tomorrow it is one time that the whole country would actually stick together.

On the sunnier side of the street – as I said the SnowBirds put on a decent show as always. The funny thing, at least to me, they seemed to look like little model airplanes from the ground; they didn’t look real at all.  See for yourself:

The SnowBirds

The SnowBirds

After seeing all these airplanes and flying machines I am certain now of what I would like to do at least once in my life.  I have added “Fly in a f-18” to my Bucket list.  I really don’t think it is something that I will ever get to do, but you never know!!!!  And it costs nothing to dream right???

That’s about it for now – I am tired and have to get up early (5:30 am early). so I am going to say good night.  I still have more to write about, but it will have to wait.

I hope you are all having a wonderful summer wherever you are and with whoever you are with.

Nite

Nancy

Leave a Reply

