Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Wasting away again in Margaritaville…

I wish I actually had time to waste away doing nothing.  It seems the more I try to streamline my life the busier it gets.

I spent all after noon “polishing up” my resume and writing a dynamite cover letter for a position I am applying for with the Alzheimer Society.  The cover letter is a killer, if I do say so my self but it had to be – I lack the specific post-secondary education they are asking for.  Somehow Police Sciences is not the same as Media Sciences.  The only thing they have in common is the “Sciences” part although I did have to take a course on Media Relations when I took Police Sciences.

The position I am applying for is one of a Fund Raiser.  As someone who cares for two Alzheimer patients on a 24/7 basis I am well aware of the need for funding that this agency and others like it require to offer the services that it does to the people who need it the most.

The job is part time only, 22 hours a week.  In addition to me being perfect for the job, the job is perfect for me.  Recently we were approved for 24 hours of respite care a week. This means that I can hire someone for up to 24 hours a week at $10/hour to look after mom and dad while I am at work and it will be paid for.  Anything above that will be our own responsibility but that is ok.  I can’t see us needing anymore than 5 or 6 hours on top of the 24.

I am really excited about this job.  I know I can do this.  I am no stranger to fund raising – hey, I used to sell the most Girl Guide cookies in my group. Fund raising for cash is the same just a little different.  The principles are the same the outcome the same just different.  (If you understand what I just said,  you too can be a fund raiser…)

Anyhow, wish me luck.  I am dropping off the resume on Tuesday, tomorrow is a holiday here and they will not be open.  I’ll keep you posted.

 

Nancy

One response to “Wasting away again in Margaritaville…

  1. steve33433 August 12, 2009 at 9:49 am

    All the best on the job quest.
    If they do not select you – it will be their loss.
    Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

