Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

5 Years and counting

Although my official date is not until October 28, 2009, I had my 5th year annual check up with the Radiation Oncologist this past Wednesday.

I really never thought I would see the 5 year mark.  The surgery went well, the chemo and radiation went well while they were happening.  However, it was the after effects of said radiation and chemo that almost killed me.

Happily enough I managed to kick them in the ass and well, here I am 5 years later.  Somedays I almost forget – but then a little twitch or pain shows up and I am again reminded that I am a SURVIVOR.  That’s right I am A CANCER SURVIVOR and try as I may, I will never really forget.  And to be truthful I don’t want to forget.  Forgetting would mean that I didn’t care and that’s just not true.

 

See, as I have said before I will tell anyone who will listen and even those who won’t about the dangers of heartburn and living on antacids and prescription Acid Reflex drugs.  Listen up people, believe me YOU DO NOT WANT TO GO THROUGH WHAT I DID!!!!

Although cancer stats are getting better on the whole there are some that are not getting better and EC is one of them. 

I implore you – if you suffer from heartburn on a regular basis please, please see your Doctor and demand that you get a scope.  Barrett’s Esophagus is now becoming a “common” disease and it can be treated.  A very small percentage of people diagnosed with Barrett’s will be diagnosed with EC.  I cannot see wating till that time – so if you have heartburn, if you scarf down handfuls of Rolaids or Tums and they are becoming one of your major food groups, go to the Doctor.  Do not pass GO, do not collect $200.  JUST GO!!!!!

I am one of the lucky ones thus far – don’t wait to be able to call yourself LUCKY because it might not happen that way.

I know I go on and on about EC but I have to.  No one and I mean no one would want to have this incidious form of cancer.  Believe ME.

 

Nancy

One response to “5 Years and counting

  1. steve33433 August 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

    It would be terrific if thousands of people read this entry. Now that I also have gone through the EC surgery and can say also that I am a survivor, looking back on this does bring some realizations and some eye-opening things from the past. In conversation with my wife, son and assorted others, I indicated that I ate Rolaids but mostly when I ate late at night and ate what I liked best – garlic, hot peppers and a variety of food that was on the oily side. My son corrected me when he said, “Are you kidding? You had Rolaids in the night table, in the car, in your desk, in the kitchen drawer, in the travel drug bag and if all else failed, in Mom’s pocketbook.”
    So as Nancy indicated, it Rolaids have become one of your major food groups, get your esophagus checked out. Nancy and I are survivors but you can catch it much earlier than we did.

Leave a Reply

