Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

What else?

I have been working on some projects, lest you think that while I was not writing my blog I have been sitting around doing nothing.  Well, I suppose for some of the time I have been sitting around but doing nothing is not part of my agenda.

Keeping mom and dad occupied is a tough job to say the least.  Boredom comes quickly for dad – mom is a little easier to placate.  But the toughest part is trying to make sure they have things to do.  Sue is pretty good at this – she manages to keep them doing things.  On the other hand I have a difficult time – I get tired fairly easy so after an hour or two of activities I am ready for a nap.  Only thing is that I can’t nap during the day…

Surviving cancer surgery was the easy part.  Surviving chemo and radiation was a little tougher.  It’s the everyday left over residual’s from the surgery et al that slows me down.  I am so envious of anyone who has travelled the cancer path (any variety of the disease) and has pretty well gotten their life back to “normal”.  I don’t even know what normal is anymore.  The biggest problems I have arrive from eating and I know I do have to eat but in all honesty it is more of a pain than not eating.  When the food does go down it sits in what is left of my stomach like a stone.  And then, when it decides to move on, it does LOL.  Usually with no warning.  And it doesn’t matter what it is.  Today it works, tomorrow it doesn’t.  Junk food has become my friend once again – by junk food I mean tostidos and salsa.  For this week, at least it is working.  What used to work – well, its a crap shoot LOL.  This is grapefruit season and since dad can only have 1 a week due to his meds I decided to treat us this week.  Well, big mistake.  I used to be able to eat one a day.  Half on Monday morning and I am still paying for it!!!! Oh well. Guess there are worse things than not being able to eat…

Anyhow, my new project has been sending “care packages” to Canadian troops stationed in Afghanistan.  I am not sure why I feel so strongly about this, but I do.  Everytime another Repatriation happens in Trenton I get more and more angry.  Canadian Troops are PeaceKeepers.  We, as a country, are not at war with anyone and yet …

One night I was surfing the net and found a website called Chosen Soldier.  In a nutshell Chosen Soldier provides names of Canadian troops who would like to receive something from home – it doesn’t have to be anything major and reading the list of things that they have come up with was both funny and sad at the same time.  We take so many things for granted at home, having no clue what it is like to go without some of the creature comforts we have become so used to having.  Simple things really, lip balm, toilet paper, KD (Kraft Dinner for those who are not KD affectionados), potato chips – like I said simple things.

So I got a name from Chosen Soldier and started to put together a box to send.  Thanks to the Military (and for once I can understand their reasoning), a package has to conform to a certain size.  The size is about the same as a case of beer which empty looks fairly large, but start to fill it and it does fill up fast.

In my usual insane manner I over bought items for the box. ( I know, I know, those of you who know me, know that I was doomed to over buy from the get-go LOL). To make a long story short, I dropped off two boxes today at the base in Trenton for shipping and will continue to drop boxes off as much as I can.  The military also says that I can send a letter to “any soldier” but to send a package I need to have a name and rank.  So, I added a letter in each box telling my “Chosen Soldier” to pass along my email addy to anyone who wants a package and I will comply.  If I disappear for a while again, you will know that I disregarded the Dept of National Defence’s list of contraband (LMAO).

What I fail to understand is why a lot of these items are not provided to our soldiers by the military.  How tough would it be to hand out Easy Mac or a bag of candy every once in a while.  Nonetheless I shall continue my little endevour until I am no longer able or until the last Canadian Soldier comes home.  I have heard via the media that Canada is due to have it’s troops out by 2011.  Ya right, I will believe that when I see it!!!!! I am hopeful that once the packages get there I will have some more names to keep me busy. If you would like to contribute to my cause – go get a Tim Horton’s gift card and address it to :

Any Canadian Soldier

OP ATHENA

PO Box 5058 Stn Forces

Belleville ON K8N 5W6

There is a Tim’s at the base in Kandahar and it accepts Tim’s cards in Canadian dollars.  Buy a soldier a coffee and a muffin/donut.  It’s the least we can do.  You can mail the letter postage free too – Canada Post is allowing letter to be sent for free for the duration of the “war”.  For once, CP is actually showing a human side.  This has to be a first.  Or you can email me and when the names start coming in you can send your own package.  However, unless you live close to a base and can drop it off – it can get expensive.  CP has stopped the free package mailing…(of course anything from CP  for any length of time is not going to happen).  See – too good to be true LOLOLOLOL.

You can visit Chosen Soldier and see what they are all about at http://trevlac.biz/Chosen_Soldier.htm

It really is a great story and a worthwhile cause – at least in my opinion.  I cannot imagine being so far away from my family and friends trying to help people which dodging bullets and trying to avoid IED’s.  Call me crazy but…

That’s about it for tonight. I am tired and it is time to shut down the puter and get some rest.  Tomorrow dad has group at 10:00 and |I have a ton of stuff to do before the weekend.

Take care.

nancy

Leave a Reply

