Serendopeity

The faculty of making stupid discoveries by accident. The name of my first Fantasy Football Team. Neither of which have anything to do with this blog. I just like the word. Deal with it !!!!!!

Things that make you go Hmmmmm…

“The country’s largest supermarket chain, Loblaw Cos. Ltd., repeated its concern about the impact of rising household debt loads on consumer spending in Canada.” (Toronto Star, Feb 2010)

And yet, they continue to offer the President’s Choice Mastercard to consumers in the stores.  Last week in the No Frills store in Belleville Sue and I were approached by a man soliciting for the card.

I asked him why would I get a PC Mastercard just to get points when I can get points at Sobey’s without having to commit to yet another credit card and possibly put myself in debt to buy groceries.  His first reply was that with the PCMC “you get more points per dollar than at Sobey’s”…he obviously missed my point. The second part of his answer was that as long as the balance was paid in full monthly there would be no debt.  Hmmm…so, I ask, with Canadian’s debt loads what they are what were the chances that the average person would pay off the card every month.  He had no answer…

Where does corporate responsibility start and end????

Leave a Reply

